Finding locals who share your interests

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

TwelfthDoctorFan
Butterfly
Butterfly

30 Jun 2017, 8:11 am

Hello, I'm a newbie here.

I'm an autistic adult who lives in a relatively small town, near a medium-sized city. I have a lot of passionate interests -- theater, Doctor Who, writing, etc. -- but I've never quite been able to find a place to commune with people who share those interests. I can't participate in community theater because of work hours. No one ever seems to be throwing aDoctor Who viewing party at a local bar. I feel rather left out, and it's frustrating to only be around fellow fans a few times a year when I go up to Chicago for conventions. I have tried asking for ways to start my own group with my limited means (I do not drive, and I live with my family) but they haven't been helpful. And my family does not trust blindly attending online meetups and such. Any advice? Thanks.

whatamievendoing
Veteran
Veteran

30 Jun 2017, 2:31 pm

Well, considering you're apparently new here, you can use this forum as a starting point. I can imagine there being at least a person or two who live (relatively) close to you and have similar interests. Sadly, though, I'm not one of those people.

SpreadsheetMaster
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

02 Jul 2017, 7:18 pm

I don't know what to tell you if online meetups aren't an option. They really aren't dangerous so long as they're in public places. Of all the ones I've looked at, only one wasn't. I didn't go to that one.

Campin_Cat
Veteran
Veteran

02 Jul 2017, 8:15 pm

Maybe that medium-sized city has a local newspaper that you can read on-line, to find-out what things are happening, in that city.

the_phoenix
Veteran
Veteran

02 Jul 2017, 8:28 pm

Join a Star Trek group,
and you're quite likely to
run into Dr. Who fans.

If I lived closer to Chicago, I'd suggest meeting.

In any case, I wish you luck.

izzeme
Veteran
Veteran

03 Jul 2017, 12:18 pm