Planning self employment but worry about medical costs

Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts ] 

DinoMongoosePenguin
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

30 Jun 2017, 11:27 pm

I think, unless I can get a cushy state job, that I'd not do well in the work-for-someone-else private sector. Was planning to do a combination of being an author and doing self-employed web design, and maybe some other things. Would work best for me, but there's one problem: I NEED meds or I can't function properly, but without insurance, I'd literally be paying thousands for them and am not sure how I'd get it self-employed.

However, my executive disfunction would probably get in the way of a lot of regular work for someone else type jobs and I know that the others, as they'd likely be far from my ideal, I'd have to fake being happy which I'm not good at (and not even the motivation "I need this to eat, etc" would be enough to keep me going.)

Truthfully, the fear is so bad that sometimes, I haven't come close to doing it though, I've thought of overdosing (on my meds) and ending it. You see, I may be safe right now living at home and my parents have accepted that I may end up never working, but they aren't going to live forever, and then what will I do?

Also, I happen to know secrets about the private sector:

1.) Pro-NT
2.) Age discrimination
3.) Increasingly a planned economy
4.) Anti-American, anti-white, anti-male, etc.
5.) Favors urban areas which I would prefer to avoid
6.) Not quite that good for someone that doesn't drive (though maybe I will drive someday)

I am aiming for state jobs but have the following problems:

1.) Didn't do well on most of the non-testing applications (failed most of them as the jobs seemed to be aimed toward someone that's been working for years.) However, did get an A on one of them and get a special bonus on another for having a disability which gives me a favorable rating. Got two C's on some too. Also, haven't tested at the testing centers yet.