Being A psychotherapist and psychologist

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Missworry
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

12 Jul 2017, 1:04 pm

Hi

I have a question.
Can people with Asperger be a psychologist or psychotherapist?

Thanks in advance.

will@rd
Veteran
Veteran

12 Jul 2017, 1:14 pm

My therapist told me she's pretty sure one of her colleagues is an undiagnosed Aspie.

Actually, in college, I toyed with both Psych and Secondary Ed, but dropped out to go back to broadcasting.

Missworry
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

12 Jul 2017, 1:19 pm

Thanks A lot for replying. I am recently being diagnosed for asperger (HFA). I am still in the process. But I am a psychologist and I want to be a psychotherapist. But people tell me that it's impossible to be asperger and be someone who helps people with psychological problems. But looking around here on the forum I see that a lot of aspergers study psychology .

Kiriae
Veteran
Veteran

12 Jul 2017, 2:12 pm

I am not sure if it is possible to be a psychologist/psychotherapist when you have Asperger but a girl I am helping by talking with her through the internet told me I would be a good psychoterapist and I should try getting a job like this.

She has a lot of problems (I suppose HFA+paranoia or an early schizophrenia) and I made her visit a psychiatrist and tell them what she told me because she clearly needs medical help and she was getting dangerous to herself(but she would hide it from the doctors so she wasn't getting proper treatment). Now she is attending the treatment and asks me questions about her therapy, medicine, experiences and stuff. I hope I am helping her but sometimes I am worried if I don't accidentally make things worse. But I guess even just making her seek treatment and take the medicine properly was a success.

Campin_Cat
Veteran
Veteran

12 Jul 2017, 6:23 pm

Missworry wrote:
Can people with Asperger be a psychologist or psychotherapist?

Missworry wrote: