I feel worthless, dumb, untalented, and boring.

Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ] 

Apple98
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

23 Jul 2017, 2:48 am

I feel so dumb and worthless and untalented compared to everyone I know! It feels as if I don't or ever will find a purpose in life! I do have a paying job. I work as a silverware roller at a restaurant. I work part time. But still that doesn't change how I feel about my self. Compared to my best friend, I feel really dumb, and untalented. He is Autistic like me. He's really smart. He knows a lot about geometry and mathematics and he seems very talented. I don't feel talented at all. I feel like my Autism is not a "gift" unlike other people who are on the Autism Spectrum. Sometimes I ask myself. "What is the reason of me being put on this planet?" I have no life. I work only three days out of the week and that's it! I don't know what to do with myself. I really wanted to be an electrician but my dreams of being an electrician are now shattered. That's because they require you to know geometry and I don't know how to do geometry! I remember taking geometry back in my junior year in high school. But I was never able to understand geometry. I honestly don't know what to do. I'm scared what my future will be! Should I keep going or give up? I'm about near the end of my rope.

Joe90
Veteran
Veteran

23 Jul 2017, 3:27 am

The only advice I have to offer is don't give up!

But I do know how you feel because I'm the same. I have Asperger's, but I am not intelligent either. I don't feel it is a gift to me. I'm not the sort of Aspie to get myself engrossed in a special interest. The only special interests I've had were over people and always got me into trouble or made me look like a weird stalker.