Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ] 

PaperMajora
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

26 Jul 2017, 12:47 am

For about a year now, I've had a strong suspicion that I have ASD due to me having many signs of it. However I have learnt that aspies need to use intellect to speak. This fits me to a degree since I usually rehearse what I say in my head, and will often stutter and talk very awkwardly when forced to speak on the spot. However I can usually say simple yes\no responses or say hi without really putting any thought into it. Also when I studied music I mainly played off intuition, being able to play songs almost instantly without sheet music. It was intelligence based aspects like reading sheet music and composing that I actively had to improve. So, can an aspie have any sort of intuition?

EzraS
Veteran
Veteran

26 Jul 2017, 8:35 am

Sure. There are things I am intuitive about. I think an autistic person's intuition might fail them when it comes to social interaction. Especially in interpreting social cues.

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

26 Jul 2017, 9:03 am

I've gotten more "intuition" as I've gotten more experienced in life.

As a young person, I had virtually none.

IstominFan
Veteran
Veteran

26 Jul 2017, 9:06 am

I never thought of myself as particularly intuitive. I do think of myself as a pretty good judge of character, however. When I began following Denis Istomin, I thought he seemed like a nice man and very sportsmanlike. I was right about him.

CuriousButDepressed
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

26 Jul 2017, 9:20 am

I have incredibly good intuition. When I was younger I would get gut feelings that would nearly always turn out to be correct and I often can predict how someone is going to react before they react. I'm not sure if this is something other than intuition, but it certainly sounds like it could be intuition to me.

anti_gone
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

26 Jul 2017, 12:00 pm

Why shouldn't they?