How to get the job I want without a degree

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

SonicMisaki
Veteran
Veteran

27 Jul 2017, 10:40 pm

Hello. This is my first post on the "Work and Finding a Job" section!

I'm a 22-year-old college student majoring in Computer Science and I want a programming job, ranging anywhere from database management to even game design. I once took a certain Physics II course in which I haven't gotten the material down, so I've taken a break from pursuing my degree.
I have taken several courses in Codecademy to learn about various languages, but so far, I haven't had that much ambition otherwise. What steps can I take to find this ambition and, in as professional a way I can put this, get myself some job training?

Any and all advice is welcome. I'll be happy to talk with you!

MorningSue
Butterfly
Butterfly

28 Jul 2017, 7:12 am

Aside from my own issues with keeping a job, I've gotten into jobs/careers that require qualifications and/or training that I don't have.

In my cover letter I relate my interest in the field and my willingness to enrol in and complete any relevant courses, or undertake the training required.

Employers will always advertise for the 'ideal' candidate, the one who already possesses these things. However, most can accept that people have to start somewhere and are often happy to accept an enthusiastic, fresh-faced applicant that they can have trained their way. Some even prefer it.

*Wishing you luck*

Stoic0209
Raven
Raven

28 Jul 2017, 12:22 pm

Freecodecamp does a free certificiation thingie. It's a lot of work, but it seems to be a good solid path to employment.

shortfatbalduglyman
Veteran
Veteran

28 Jul 2017, 8:32 pm

get an internship

AlyssJJJ1
Butterfly
Butterfly

01 Aug 2017, 5:13 am