Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ] 

Zaarin
Raven
Raven

13 Aug 2017, 8:15 pm

So, this is probably a pretty familiar story. I went into college not exactly knowing what I wanted to do. As I approached having to choose my major, I was leaning towards professional and technical writing--but then I tried it and hated it. So I majored in English literature. I originally intended to become either a professor, but as I drew near graduation I began to have doubts: I watched how hard my professors were pressured to get tenure, and I wasn't sure I was up for that. So, since my dream was always to become a published author, I took a year off to write. That "year" has turned into five years. In that time I did finish a book and shop it around to agents, but I never got anything more than a form rejection. I'm still writing, but I'm also beginning to feel that it's time to move on with my life. Unfortunately, over the years my anxiety has increased; I had two panic attacks in college and I'm a lot worse than I was then. I don't think I could handle a job where I had to leave home and be around people every day.