Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

NCGUY
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

16 Aug 2017, 2:00 pm

Hello all,

I am new to the board.

I'm seeking opinions of what technology careers and programming languages would be good for me to learn.

I am a newbie when it comes to technology. I have recently started taking some beginner level classes online on various websites to get some experience. I've liked everything so far. I'm having a hard time deciding on narrowing things down on what to focus on. I have a friend who thinks that I would be good working on the back end of things, but I'm truly open. I would like to go to a coding boot camp, but at the advice of another friend, I should wait until I know what I want to do.

I had to resign my last job because my wife got a job that led us to move to the Raleigh Durham area. For the past 3 years, I've been working in the insurance field, largely doing data entry and research tasks. Those jobs I enjoyed doing and have been successful at. My background also includes a good amount of customer service work. I would say that I was good at that, but can see clearly now that those skills required didn't really fit with what I do best. I know I don't want to do a job that requires a lot of phone work.

Ross64K
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

19 Aug 2017, 11:57 am