Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

aspieinwonderland1
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

18 Aug 2017, 5:44 pm

Hello.

I just joined.

I'm a 20-year-old college student with Asperger's Syndrome and mild autism. I've been diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome and mild autism at some point in my childhood. Unfortunately, I didn't know about that until I was about to start middle school. At first, discovering my Asperger's and mild autism kind of made sense. It made me realize why I didn't think like most people or fit in very well. But, at the same time, I didn't really like the sound of being different from everybody else. After I started high school, I had to accept myself being an individual with Asperger's and mild autism. Although I did just that, I knew that I would facing a lot of challenges and trying out new things.

This is the first time I'm joining an online community. So if I mess up on something, I apologize.

will@rd
Veteran
Veteran

18 Aug 2017, 6:20 pm

Welcome! :D Good to have you aboard.

First, Asperger Syndrome IS autism. In fact, in the new DSM-V, the diagnosis of Asperger's Disorder has been eliminated entirely, in favor of the term "High Functioning Autism," or even simpler "Autism Spectrum Disorder," the specific designation of just WHERE on the spectrum, noted by various subcategories.

Second, I personally contend that there is no such thing as "mild autism," only superior coping skills.