New here - ashamed of being autistic :(

Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Magpie_01
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

23 Aug 2017, 1:51 pm

Hi,

I'm new here. I was diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome just this week and after some frantic googling I found this forum. I thought it might be a good idea to register and meet new people? I'm still coming to terms with my diagnosis and it's hard. I feel quite isolated and lonely... I don't know any other autistic people and I feel left out a lot. :(

Anyway!

Other things to know about me -- I'm 27 and I'm doing a PhD in the humanities. :) I love my field and I want to continue with academia when I'm done (even though it can be a social minefield sometimes). I enjoy reading, music (Twenty One Pilots :P ) and riding horses.

That's pretty much it, so :)

Lea

PS: English isn't my first language so please excuse any grammar/spelling errors.

AnonymousAnonymous
Veteran
Veteran

23 Aug 2017, 1:58 pm

Welcome to Wrong Planet! :D

B19
Veteran
Veteran

23 Aug 2017, 5:17 pm

Welcome :)

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

23 Aug 2017, 5:21 pm

Having autism is NOTHING to be ashamed of.

That's pretty nifty that you're going for your doctorate. I've only been able to get my bachelor's.

Why would you be ashamed of that?

I would bet that at least some of you colleagues are in the "same boat" as you.

will@rd
Veteran
Veteran

23 Aug 2017, 5:30 pm

:hail: Welcome!

It's a lonely life. Even if you knew other autistic people, there's no guarantee you'd have anything in common with them, or even like them. You know you've got a problem when you're awkward and uncomfortable even around people just like you. :?