Can't get used to being a teacher and leaving home

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

221B
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

30 Aug 2017, 4:32 pm

Hi... I suspect I have Asperger's, I went to a psychiatrist and a psychologist but neither diagnosed me officially mostly because they don't know enough about adult female high functioning autism. I'm a female and 26 years old, and pretty convinced that I have Asperger's.
I started working as a teacher last year. I left my parents' house and started living in a village in the middle of nowhere as the school I work in is there. Last year was terrible. I was extremely lonely, I had to live with three of the other teachers in the lodgment flat of the school. The house was dirty and cold, the people were gossiping and backstabbing each other, there was no where to go in the village and the locals spoke another language (they are a minority in my country). It was terrible from every aspect.
As for school, I was a terrible teacher. I have no idea how to control the classes of 25+ middle school students. I can't stand having to interact with too many people; I get very angry and overwhelmed. The school literally smells like a barn, there is no janitor, everywhere is smelly and dirty. The days when I had 7 classes were especially nightmare. I made a list of what I can't stand about teaching:
1. Dirtiness
2. Constant social interaction with too many people
3. Crowd
4. Noise
5. Chaos
6. Drama (among teachers)
7. No privacy (living in a lodgement with all the other teachers)

I never wanted to become a teacher. I wanted the job only because I had no skills that would qualify me for another job and teaching had vacation, job and insurance security and fixed working hours.