Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

MaxwellS
Butterfly
Butterfly

13 Nov 2017, 2:41 pm

I am a care-dependent adult. I am very dependent on my mother. However, I am often told by people how smart I am, and how, because of that, I can do anything. I find this very annoying, mainly because there is more to being successful that just having books smarts. I am a good writer, as people say, but only about topics that I want to write about.

I will give you another example. People sometimes cannot understand why I don't drive. They think because people describe me as "high functioning" that I am able to function just like a normal adult, including drive. Explaining to people that this is not the case seems pointless to me.

For the longest time, my own mother thought I could handle college because I "was smart". Truth is not everyone on the spectrum is college material. For example, try giving me a writing assignment on something that isn't a preferred topic.

Does anyone else here find overestimation of your abilities to be an insult? It is really annoying to me.

L.Williamson
Butterfly
Butterfly

13 Nov 2017, 2:50 pm

I get that problem too. People often say to me that I should go to University when I'm older, But where I have bad organisational skills I would probably not be able to keep up with all the work! At school they expect me to have everything done perfectly and on time, and it really annoys me how they instantly assume that I can do so in most cases!

LostGirI
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

13 Nov 2017, 3:20 pm

MaxwellS wrote:
I am a care-dependent adult. I am very dependent on my mother. However, I am often told by people how smart I am, and how, because of that, I can do anything. I find this very annoying, mainly because there is more to being successful that just having books smarts. I am a good writer, as people say, but only about topics that I want to write about.