Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

nephets
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

18 Nov 2017, 1:48 pm

A number of people have mentioned gastro-intestinal problems on other threads, so thought I would start a dedicated thread. Until I went on Prozac I was plagued with dyspepsia on a daily basis, which I put down entirely to anxiety, caused by having to deal with people. I was an expert on indigestion treatments and in frequent pain. Does anyone know if any research has been done on this link, because it seems common?

Mr SmokeTooMuch
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

18 Nov 2017, 2:48 pm

I used prozac , but only as an antidepressant .
Not sure if it helped me with digestion .
But gluten free diet surely did .

nephets
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

18 Nov 2017, 3:37 pm

I was a bit unclear, there. I meant that the Prozac lessens the anxiety, which causes the dyspepsia.

jonny23
Veteran
Veteran

18 Nov 2017, 5:33 pm

Digestion problems are common with anxiety. I would say that digestion problems are not directly related to autism but that most autistics have high anxiety.

I have GERD and other digestive trouble.

karathraceandherspecialdestiny
Veteran
Veteran

18 Nov 2017, 5:41 pm

I have an autoimmune disease that effects my digestion, and I've read that there may be a link between autoimmune diseases and autism. One of the guys that goes to the clinic I do for treatment (my disease requires IV infusions of medication) I think is on the spectrum.

dragonsanddemons
Veteran
Veteran

18 Nov 2017, 5:41 pm

Hmm... Interestingly, I'm a female autistic with anxiety, and I have no digestive issues.

Yet in my new wildness and freedom I almost welcome the bitterness of alienage. For although nepenthe has calmed me, I know always that I am an outsider; a stranger in this century and among those who are still men.
-H. P. Lovecraft, "The Outsider"

TornadoEvil
Veteran
Veteran

18 Nov 2017, 6:00 pm