Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

AnimeGirl85
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

03 Jan 2018, 7:03 pm

Hello! I joined this community website a long time ago, but other things in my life got me sidetracked, therefore haven't been communicating with anybody in here in years! But Im at a point in my life now where Im trying to do more networking to feel a connection with other people that can relate to me. So here it goes.

I just turned 32 years on on Christmas Eve last year, and I've been married to my husband for 2 years. I used to work at a bank at my downtown for 5 years, but I got fired in Dec. 2016. Im now a Lyft driver, but still trying to find the job I really want. Its been rough. Meanwhile, my husband and I were discussing about being parents, and I said I wanted to brainstorm on what it takes to be a mother. Some of his family are aware of this and has shown to be supportive; my aunt in law has emailed me docs and links that deals with understanding the financial strain of child costs, relationship matters, passing genetics, etc.

As much as I appreciate people being real with me on the hard work it takes to raise a child, disabled or not, a part of me feels that it shouldn't matter what the child is born, as long as he/she is healthy and loved with equal respect. But on the other hand, its important to know these things and even get hands on experience before making one of life's biggest decisions. We really want to be parents, and dont want to start at a later age. I understand it's more complicated to raise a child with a disability, and it does affect families one way or another.