Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

debianator
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

17 Jan 2018, 4:06 pm

Hello All,

So, Andrew is already in 8th grade, (even though he can't pass a 5th grade test.)

I know that Prince William County, City of Manassas has completely handled Andrew's case wrong but I am not a lawyer so I can't prove anything. His ABA therapist thinks it may be too late to make up the education he may have already missed and it would be very hard to get a prosecution since it would be hard to prove the intellectual vs. cognitive disorder factors in Andrew's case.

I am not going to act like I know what she meant, I just know that I am mad at myself for not doing something different as soon as my gut told me something is wrong with the PWC COM education system.

Even now, I simply asked them what testing service they would suggest and they want a meeting, why can't they just answer my question, they know I am a single parent and don't have time to take off for a useless one hour meeting.

:evil: :x :evil:

ASDMommyASDKid
Veteran
Veteran

17 Jan 2018, 6:42 pm

They may be trying to make it as hard for you as possible and hope you give up. There may be (free) advocacy groups in your state/area. I would look to see if you can find any. If you can't find one through the magic of Google, if you have autism advocacy groups or even something like ARC (which is a mental health group) they may tell you where to point.

You should not require a meeting just to advise you where to go for testing, but it is common to be able to get educational diagnosis testing at the district level, and maybe that is what they want the meeting for? I would clarify exactly what they want to discuss at the meeting and ask if any of it can be done "ahead of time" via email or phone.