Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

pasty
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

23 Feb 2018, 4:12 pm

I finally graduated, at the age of 42, with my Masters Degree, and I'm still exhausted months later. I have been in college since I graduated high school, except for the year break that my doctor made me take because of extreme burnout and psychotic break. I've never felt a sense of relief like this, yet I'm exhausted too. Has anyone else experienced exhaustion long after removal of a chronic stimulus? How long does this last? I should be celebrating this enormous accomplishment.

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

23 Feb 2018, 5:17 pm

Congratulations. What did you get your Master's in?

Have you had difficulty obtaining employment? The frustration in this could lead to a feeling of "exhaustion."

Mudboy
Veteran
Veteran

23 Feb 2018, 5:53 pm

Congratulations on your degree. Getting a Masters is hard work. I can understand being exhausted after years of only being able to take courses part time. Are you going to have a party to celbrate?

IstominFan
Veteran
Veteran

23 Feb 2018, 6:09 pm

I got my Master's Degree in English at 26. I felt no joy in my achievement then, only relief that is was finally over. I wondered what kind of job I would ever get. I thought at the time I would never get a job. I felt I wasted my life.

Redxk
Veteran
Veteran

23 Feb 2018, 6:21 pm

I was exhausted after just trying for my master's. I tried twice and never did finish, so I am pleased for you.

I am actually right now in the longest and most difficult emotional recovery of my life. It was a court trial that ended in November, along with the two years of threats and aggression from our neighbors that left us with no choice but to sue them. My therapist estimates another year before I'm back to work.

Dear_one
Veteran
Veteran

23 Feb 2018, 6:59 pm