Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Tanker
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

03 May 2018, 2:56 pm

I work at a small game studio and I figured there might be others out here.

Might be enjoyable to discuss game news, tech methods and what not.

Things that go well, things that go badly.

For instance, I suck at arriving on time at the office, because I usually sleep like garbage.
On the upside, I get to make cool art :).

So, any of you nerds out there? xD

Misery
Veteran
Veteran

04 May 2018, 3:04 am

I *might* count as one?

From a purely technical standpoint, I'm a contractor, I suppose. I've worked with a developer by the name of Arcen. Have made a game, an expansion for that game (named Starward Rogue), and two expansions for a different game.

My role is generally unusual though. What I do is *very* specialized in these projects. All of them are games that involve bullet-hell elements; I create the patterns for those and balance the difficulty in other ways. I was contracted because the devs wanted to do some stuff with those kinds of things, but it's not exactly their specialty.

Interestingly, I had no true professional experience before that. Hell, I dont even work a real job (dont need to). But I'd helped alot with testing and fixing over the couple of years that I'd known them, and they knew of my knowledge in the genre and asked me to join for those games. Oddly I was immediately put in a position of authority over the project. I'm sure this made sense somehow (it did work out well though). I remember the moment when I fully realized just what I'd gotten myself into, when at the start of the project I asked "So, what do you want me to work on first?" and the head developer said "Well, what do you think you should do first? Whatever it is, do that" and I'm just like "oh god I'm going to screw this up, arent I". But no, it worked out, nerve-wracking though it was.