Understanding the experience of eating for those with ASD

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

VeronicaVCH
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

12 Jun 2018, 7:07 am

Hi there,

I'm a nutrition grad student and pre-registered dietitian at California State University, Chico who is interested in the eating experiences of adults with ASD. I want to understand if disturbances in the eating experience influence overall food intake, health, and quality of life. I started a program through CSU, Chico's Autism Clinic for Teens with ASD that teaches hands-on skills related to food like food preparation and following recipes and information related to nutrition and food science.

I am currently doing research about the eating experiences, food intake, and eating habits of adults with and without ASD to better understand the relationship between eating behavior and ASD.

What do you think about this topic? What is your relationship with food like?

If you have any questions, comments, or feedback I want to hear from you! Thank you for reading this.

EzraS
Veteran
Veteran

12 Jun 2018, 7:22 am

I think my eating habits are fairly ordinary. I'm able to eat the a favorite food daily for a long time before getting tired of it. But other than that nothing else comes to mind.

Arganger
Veteran
Veteran

12 Jun 2018, 8:46 am

I love strong flavors, especially spicy food. Other than forgetting that I'm cooking I'm a great cook, and other than being a vegetarian I'll eat almost anything. With the exception of a few foods that are sensory unbearable to me, especially asparagus.

Suspected; PTSD (Treated, as my counselor did notice), possible PCOS, PMDD, Learning disabilities (Sure of it, unknown what they are), possibly something wrong with immune system (Sick about as much as I'm not) Possible EDS- hyper mobility type (Will be getting tested, suggested by doctor) dysautonomia

nick007
Veteran
Veteran

Location: was Louisiana but now Vermont in the police state called USA

12 Jun 2018, 9:22 am