Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

machinex
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

21 Oct 2007, 6:15 pm

I'm sure many of you have this happen, but I find it becoming more and more crazy...

I am a graphic designer & web designer, and I work with a number of other designers. I am far and away the most productive. In the time it takes another designer to do a website, brochure or whatever... I do 4 or 5. I work to the limits of my computer, hot-keying and multitasking to the extreme. I work so fast that my coworkers sometimes stand behind me and comment that they can't even see what it is that I am doing, the screen is just flashing all over the place as I work. For awhile I actually worked on two computers near-simultaneously because they were both too slow to keep up, though I recently had the machines replaced with a machine that must have cost a fortune, and is well equipped to sort-of keep up with me. Meanwhile I am so focused that I don't even notice people right in front of me. I only stop when the computer does.

If someone speaks to me or the phone rings, I totally lose concentration. It'll take me sometimes half an hour just to figure out what it was that I was doing because I have EVERYTHING open. If my train of thought is derailed, it's a big deal to figure it all out and start again. The end result is that when left alone, I am 4 or 5 times as productive as anyone else. But when not left alone, I'm only somewhat faster than them.

I have to be the absolute best in the department in order to keep my job, because my lack of social skills means that everyone else is well-liked and I am looked down upon. I have to make up for that with extreme productivity and perfect quality.