Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Namiko
Veteran
Veteran

23 Sep 2005, 5:27 pm

I was just curious if anyone else uses an RPN calculator. RPN stands for "Reverse Polish Notation" and is a little different than normal calculators are. I have an RPN calculator, and it's really nice because nobody else knows how to use it. Two years ago while in an introductory chem course, I started using my dad's old RPN calculator for my homework and found out that it worked faster for me. Now it's hard to use a "normal" calculator. Anyone else?

ed
Veteran
Veteran

23 Sep 2005, 6:49 pm

RPN calculators rule! If you're doing a complicated formula, and you know how to solve it, they can't be beat.

polyrhythmia
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

23 Sep 2005, 9:11 pm

When I was in college, I used RPN calculators almost exclusively. After graduating and not getting a job in the field I studied, I sold my RPN calc. I sure miss them, but just where can you even get one these days? Right now I am teaching myself to use the Dvorak keyboard layout, and it is still rough after three weeks, but I am confident that I can become faster on it than I was on Qwerty. I suppose after I learn how to type with Dvoark, it will no longer be available. Anyway, RPN rules, or at least used to rule.

ed
Veteran
Veteran

24 Sep 2005, 8:28 am

HP calculators: http://www.shopping.hp.com/webapp/shopp ... &aoid=1429

mathogre
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

24 Sep 2005, 8:48 am

Once I learned how to use an RPN calculator there was no turning back. I have two HPs at home (am at work now). Also I run XCalc on my Linux boxen, and I use the -rpn option. 8)

Namiko
Veteran
Veteran

24 Sep 2005, 9:48 pm