Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

barcncpt44
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

14 Mar 2008, 11:31 am

I am having a tough time finding any work and then keeping the work. Whenever i get lucky enough to get a job it goes good for a month, then either i get fired for being clumsey like dropping food, parts, breaking equipment or i get hired in horrible working conditions that force me out. like an run down hotel, over 10 year old truck. I have had over 10 jobs in 2 years since i graduated high school. my grades are not good enough to get inot college without catching up, oh and buy the way i am over 400+ lbs. i have heard of schools like bevard center or cleinc but they cost alot and voc. rehab has not helped me a bit, if i can not find something my mom is threating to put me on the streets. i need some advice quick thnak you. 8O :cry:

Detren
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

14 Mar 2008, 11:39 am

You say that you are only able to keep them for a little while, have you considered a temp agency? If you find a decent one the jobs are fairly steady, and the lengths of the jobs are shorter. Plus, if you are in a couple different fields it might show you which you are better suited for.

Zsazsa
Veteran
Veteran

14 Mar 2008, 12:04 pm

Have you considered going to a vocational school and learning a trade? Often these jobs are more in demand and do not require a college degree...you learn the trade through "hands on" experience.

Or check out your state employment office and see if they can assist you in finding a job you can do well and succeed at better
than your current job history.

Good luck!

Mudboy
Veteran
Veteran

14 Mar 2008, 3:37 pm

How about a job as a flagman at a construction site? You can get paid to be a human traffic light. :D

gbollard
Veteran
Veteran

17 Mar 2008, 10:11 pm

Obviously your weight is mitigating against you - it probably costs you jobs in interviews (even though they don't say it to your face). It may also be causing you to seem clumsy - or you may be naturally clumsy.