Church Bars Family of Autistic Child from Church

Page 1 of 4 [ 55 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

vulcanpastor
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

19 May 2008, 10:09 am

I wanted to link to two articles about a priest in central Minnesota that has placed a restraining order on the family of an autistic teen citing he could be a danger to churchgoers.

As a pastor, I find this treatement of the child and family horrible.

Minneapolis Star Tribune, May 17, 2008

Minneapolis Star Tribune, May 19, 2008

Dennis
Minneapolis, MN

SotiCoto
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

19 May 2008, 10:14 am

It is for his own good.
He is better off not setting foot into such a cesspool anyway.

Viola
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

19 May 2008, 10:16 am

Wow. 8O

tailfins1959
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

19 May 2008, 10:48 am

I blame the mother for not planning this out with the priest BEFOREHAND. There are some activities, especially a men's group he could participate in.

Quote:

Walz alleges that Adam struck a child during mass and has nearly knocked elderly people over when he abruptly bolts from church. He also spits and sometimes urinates in church and fights efforts to restrain him, Walz wrote.

I've still got a pair
Yeah honey, I'm still a guy

Last edited by tailfins1959 on 19 May 2008, 11:08 am, edited 2 times in total.

lelia
Veteran
Veteran

19 May 2008, 10:52 am

This is so sad. I wish the priest and other people of the church had come up with a better solution. His behaviour is scary and dangerous, but could be accommodated. An aide to keep him from grabbing people or jumping into other people's car, racing after him while the family gets to visit a little. Leaving one aisle open until the boy has left the sanctuary.
I'm so glad our church lets our thirty-year-old daughter with autism plus wander the santuary during the sermon, examine the babies, pat the bald men, take supplies from the nursery and sunday school. They even forgave her for setting off the fire alarm.

spudnik
Veteran