Page 1 of 3 [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

ToadOfSteel
Veteran
Veteran

15 Oct 2008, 12:13 am

Why do people like drinking so much? Usually I don't care if other people drink, but people are so insistent that I drink some times. Sometimes I wish these people would shut up.

I have an aversion to alcohol that stems from some aspie tendencies. As a child, I often experienced meltdowns where I would have total loss of control of my own mind. Since inebriation also causes loss of control (especially over inhibitions), I've been fairly phobic about anything that can cause me to lose control, and being a college student, I can hardly avoid people wanting me to drink something...

For now, I can get away with it by BSing and saying that I have an allergy to alcohol, but even that doesn't stop some people from trying to get me drunk...

k_semler
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

15 Oct 2008, 12:49 am

I used to drink to excess, (16-18 beers a day), due to the following reasons:

1. Boredom, (There's nothing better to do, so I might as well get drunk).
2. I thought life was "funner" when intoxicated.
3. I though alcohol would solve not having a social life.
4. Habit
5. Trying to turn my mind off.
6. Increased tolerance level, which required even more alcohol to get to desired level of intoxication.
7. Because I could.

sgrannel
Veteran
Veteran

15 Oct 2008, 4:00 am

Life is funner when slightly intoxicated.
Alcohol by itself doesn't give me a social life, though others' experiences may differ.
It's just another food I consume like coffee or tuna.
Getting a beer gives me a reason to make the 2 mile round trip to the store on foot, so I get up and move around for it.

But a dog knows his boy can go wrong

PilotPirx
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

15 Oct 2008, 4:11 am