Page 1 of 3 [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

timeisdead
Veteran
Veteran

27 Nov 2008, 5:59 am

On the Stanford Binet, taken at the age of 12, my verbal IQ was 167. On the other hand, my performance (visual spatial) IQ was 72. Is this unusual at all?

timeisdead
Veteran
Veteran

27 Nov 2008, 6:04 am

I was reading college medical textbooks in the 5th grade yet would agonize over the simplest puzzle.

timeisdead
Veteran
Veteran

27 Nov 2008, 6:13 am

Unusual, of course, for those afflicted with Asperger's.

MasterBrain
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

27 Nov 2008, 6:20 am

I started learning quantum mechanics when I was 12, and you can say i'm an expert in almoust everything about space, but becouse of my dyslexia i cant write it down becouse Work (and my teachers) dousnt know what im talking about.

timeisdead
Veteran
Veteran

27 Nov 2008, 11:47 am

MasterBrain wrote:
I started learning quantum mechanics when I was 12, and you can say i'm an expert in almoust everything about space, but becouse of my dyslexia i cant write it down becouse Work (and my teachers) dousnt know what im talking about.

I've heard that those with HFA are usually better at visualization whereas those with AS are more adept at verbalization. Although this isn't always the case, I wonder if there is a pattern.

LostInSpace
Veteran
Veteran

27 Nov 2008, 11:54 am

Nope. Very uneven intellectual profiles are common in both AS and autism in general.

LostInSpace
Veteran
Veteran

27 Nov 2008, 11:56 am

timeisdead wrote:
I've heard that those with HFA are usually better at visualization whereas those with AS are more adept at verbalization. Although this isn't always the case, I wonder if there is a pattern.

This pattern has been found in a few studies, but not in others.

timeisdead
Veteran
Veteran

27 Nov 2008, 12:05 pm

LostInSpace wrote:
Nope. Very uneven intellectual profiles are common in both AS and autism in general.

Do you know of ways I can improve my visual spatial skills?

Since