Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

pacgirl40
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

09 Nov 2005, 12:50 pm

I am new to this Site.
My daughter is 11 and her Aunt has brought Asperger Syndrome to my attention as a possible answer to some of the questions we've had about my daughter.... alot of the symptoms seem to fit. We have a couple of books, and I've been searching the internet for information, but where do I go from here? Do I ask the school to have her tested? Do I ask her Doctor to have her evaluated? Does she need to be diagnosed? Officially? I'm totally lost. If she does have Aspergers..she has a very mild form. (I apoligize in advance if I use any incorrect terms....I'm new to this!) Some of her 'symptoms' have been...she does have an unusual 'gait' and walks very 'rigid', she just recently learned to tie her shoes, she talks in a monotone voice, extremely intelligent about some things...struggling in other areas...an almost photographic memory, sensitive to sound, social problems...I love her to death, but I've known something was not quite right for a while, I've asked the school to test her before..and they've gone from one thing to another...at the beginning of the school year they want to test her for a learning disability, by the end they want to test her for GATE. I'm just lost. If someone, could just point me in the right direction I would appreciate it!

BeeBee
Veteran
Veteran

09 Nov 2005, 1:27 pm

Welcome! I'm glad you found this site.

I'm no expert, just a parent of a 12 year old boy dx'ed PDD-NOS which is similar to Asperger's. So, take what I say in that frame of mind.