Just found out my husband has Asperger's Syndrome.

Page 1 of 3 [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

ASWife
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

24 Jul 2008, 4:18 pm

Hi there! I'm totally new to this but am glad to have finally found a place to talk about the situation with my AS husband. Sometimes I feel like I'm totally going crazy! We found out after we were married that he has AS. He's a very good mimic but I always knew there was something different about him. He just kept coming around and I became very dependent on him... He's a wonderful man and would do anything for me. Well, I say anything, but, he is very limited in his ability to understand how I'm "feeling"... I think my biggest thing is loneliness - not having that emotional connection that I so long for. But who's to blame? Certainly not him. He can't help that he has AS. So, I deal with the loneliness, AND the guilt of feeling selfish... My husband is quite the talker and very intelligent, but when it comes to talking about personal issues, he'd rather do just about anything else. He will listen to me if I say okay, I need you to listen to me. Other than that, I can make a comment about something and he just goes off on a long, drawn-out explanation or opinion about it. I have found myself keeping quiet unless necessary. I could go on and on but just wanted to get a little bit off my chest. Thanks for listening... Jaxtapose, I am sorry for you but I hope that since you found out about the AS that he is trying to work on the way he treats you... My husband can be very touchy too so I really have to watch how I approach/answer him. It's like being on constant alert :(

Yupa
Veteran
Veteran

24 Jul 2008, 8:11 pm

I kind of agree that his having Asperger's syndrome isn't really an excuse for him being angry and neglectful, although it might be that he has stressful issues he's facing at work that he doesn't have anywhere to take out and is thus redirecting those issues to you.