Page 1 of 3 [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

slashfrehley42
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

03 Jan 2010, 8:45 pm

I studied Evolution in Biology earlier this year, and how natural selection basically covers the whole lot of it. So here's my theory:

We, people with Autistic Spectrum Disorders, are different compared to "normal" people. I will call them normal, as opposed to NT.

I think that people with AS (such as myself) seem to gain large benefits from our perceived "disorder".

We tend to be (but aren't always) more intelligent, more able to concentrate, more able to complete tasks when we want to than other people. Out of the AS people I know, all of them have impressive vocabularies, remarkable memory, genius-level knowledge of one or more areas. In addition to our overpowering awesomeness, we're supremely modest!

Perhaps most importantly, we are able to learn nearly anything. Some people will argue "Oh, Aspies have no social skills" but, contrary to that, I believe that we have a DIFFERENT set of social skills when compared to normal people. Not only that, but, in my experience, we tend to be able to learn the social skills used by normal people. Sure, we may never be as adept as them at these social endeavours, but we certainly can be able to function socially in spite of what teachers and therapists and books have to say.

My theory is that we could be evolution at work. We seem to be superior (for want of a better word) to the normal ones. So, over time, natural selection will mean that we end up being the "normal" ones while they have the disorder. Not only that, but AS seems to be inherited from one's parents; my father seems to have it, and it may be that my sister does as well. These are both observations, rather than cold, hard fact.