Page 1 of 4 [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

tenzinsmom
Toucan
Toucan

16 Sep 2010, 10:07 am

I'm talking basic math.
Any ideas?
Tenzin needs help!

Edited to add: Tenzin is almost 7 years old and in 1st grade.

Last edited by tenzinsmom on 17 Sep 2010, 3:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Asp-Z
Veteran
Veteran

16 Sep 2010, 10:10 am

With difficulty. And lots of help.

Though, visual thinking can help with maths if used correctly. You can use images to count in your head, for example. Just look at Daniel Tammet.

ghdcanada
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

16 Sep 2010, 10:16 am

In middle school I started learning using little blocks until I could envision them in my head

TallyMan
Veteran
Veteran

16 Sep 2010, 10:17 am

I'm an extreme visual thinker and I had mixed difficulties with math.

Graphs are good, so if there is any way to express an equation visually use that.

Similarly if you can think of examples in real life where an abstract equation could be applied that helps too. Interestingly over time you will likely pick up a lot of images about associated mathematical concepts such as exponential increase and bacterial multiplication to an image of such a graph in your mind. It all helps.

iceb
Veteran
Veteran

16 Sep 2010, 10:31 am

Most mathematics can be represented graphicly.
Visualising graphical solutions is a powerful tool to plot a graph and take measurements is a perfectly valid solution in itself and an easy check on the validity of a formula or solution to a problem.

PunkyKat
Veteran
Veteran

16 Sep 2010, 10:50 am

Calculator for basic arethemitic. For algebra, a program from India called Key to Algebra. Next to biology, algebra is now my best subject in school.

SuperApsie
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

16 Sep 2010, 10:51 am

I do not think visual thinking will help a lot in basic maths, it is extremely useful later when you get a broader picture

So my advice would be: