Page 1 of 3 [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

TheMatrixHasYou
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

12 Oct 2011, 3:24 pm

Can you guys remember song lyrics really easily, and remember them for years afterwards? I haven't heard a particular song in about 7 years, and suddenly I started hearing the song, really really clearly in my head. On long car journeys, I play songs in my head....does any of this happen to you? :)

Dots
Veteran
Veteran

12 Oct 2011, 3:35 pm

Musical Theatre is my special interest, so I can learn songs from musicals very quickly, and remember them for a long time. I can also play musical theatre songs in my head.

I wish this transferred to classical music too, I'm studying music in university and being able to identify a Chopin piece after hearing it once would be useful. But alas, I can only do it with showtunes.

Free speech means the right to shout 'theatre' in a crowded fire.
--Abbie Hoffman

mushroo
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

12 Oct 2011, 3:39 pm

Yes, I have always had an easy time remembering song lyrics, in fact it was one of my "special interests" when I was an adolescent. I used to scribble the complete lyrics to my favorite albums when I was bored in class, and I had a game where you could tell me a word and then I would sing part of a song that used that word. And I have always idolized singer/songwriters.

LostUndergrad9090
Veteran
Veteran

12 Oct 2011, 3:55 pm

I can usually remember about 5 out of the 30 words that are used in a song.

evilduck
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

12 Oct 2011, 3:59 pm

I know pretty much every line from Black Adder. All seasons.

safffron
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

12 Oct 2011, 4:14 pm

I've always had a knack for remembering lyrics. As a kid in the 1960's, I'd memorized all the Beatles lyrics by age 8 or 9, though I had some crazy ideas about what a lot of it meant or what I thought they'd said. No surprise.

That was a special interest - British rock.

DialAForAwesome
Veteran
Veteran

12 Oct 2011, 4:25 pm