Why do a lot of NTs seem to hate intellectuals?

Page 1 of 8 [ 123 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

rastaking
Raven
Raven

30 Aug 2012, 5:03 pm

At least here in America they do. I don't mean to generalize, but it seems like the majority of NTs (including the majority of Americans) are ANTI-intellectual. For example, I have a lot of knowledge about businesses, much of which I learned via the Internet. I would say most of my education has been from the Internet, and my schools were useless at actually educating me. But when I was in school (not that long ago), my parents would always bother me if I didn't finish homework, even though I always had decent grades and a decent work ethic. I've tried to explain it to them, but I think my parents still have this misconception that the Internet is only for entertainment, not a wonderful educational tool. They tend to dismiss my hobbies (see my previous posts) as "weird" and have sometimes laughed about them, sometimes in front of psychologists with me in the room, no less. Moral of the story is that I don't think my parents (or most NTs) could care less about actual education or learning, but like to boss kids around, and the real purpose of our society's "education" system is to instill unquestioning obedience in kids. I never thought of myself as an intellectual, but this is a (derogatory?) label people have given me, perhaps because they don't really know the meaning of that word and/or can't think of a better word. Whenever I try to have an important conversation about politics, religion etc (discussed respectfully) with an NT, they seem to want to change the topic fast, not because they are offended by my beliefs, but because they are offended by the NERVE I had to talk about something so boring and not important to us "plain folks". The costs of ignorance to our society are tragic. A lot of Republicans these days seem to hate Obama because they assume all Kenyans (Obama is Kenyan American) are Muslims, a