Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

NolleProsequi
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

30 Oct 2012, 5:26 pm

Greetings all,

I am a 22 year old student from London with Austism Spectrum Disorder: a diagnosis that was only formally made last year, even though the symptoms are plain to the naked eye (and all of the other senses).

I've been looking for an online community of fellow travellers for some time; it seems that this one receives frequent posts and has a substantial number of members, so I hope this place will be fruitful. However, the catalyst for my decision to register on here is not merely a desire for 'eternal reciprocity' (to pinch a phrase from Wilfred Owen). I realise that I'm causing great distress to the people around me, including myself, so I need some help and advise from people who understand my condition. I'm not very good at seeking help, since I'm contained within my own private lucubrations most of the time - an hereditary trait and not a helpful one - which means, I suppose, that this post a rare feat for me.

"Common sense" is matter of great frustration for me. I also have a difficulty explaining things I don't particularly want to confront or feel insecure about. Please bear with me; I'll be able to spit it out eventually. Another one of my faults, I'm afraid. I would probably be admonished for doing this; throughout my life, the people around me have found the solutions perfectly obvious and will accuse me of seeking pity and stopping myself from doing the work out of laziness or lack of real interest... which is probably what I'm doing. But I also want answers, and I finally want to change myself! Or maybe that's what I convince myself to think?

NolleProsequi
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

30 Oct 2012, 5:31 pm

Is a lack of "common sense" prevalent amongst people with Aspergers and/or Autism?

thomas81
Veteran
Veteran

30 Oct 2012, 5:38 pm

depends how you define 'common sense', its a very abstract concept.