High self-esteem; 9%  9%  [ 11 ]
Too high self-esteem; 3%  3%  [ 3 ]
Depends/other; 11%  11%  [ 13 ]
Total votes : 118

Kairi96
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

01 Jan 2013, 1:25 pm

I see a lot of people saying that people with Asperger's ALWAYS have low self-esteem. I don' think so. I think it depends on the personality, since low self-esteem isn't a necessary trait for an AS diagnosis.
I put "depends" in the pool because my self-esteem is odd. It can be low or high, depending on my mood. There are days in which my self-esteem is low, but never too low, and others in which it's high, even too high, and people may even say I'm arrogant. So I think that, on avarage, my self-esteem is not low: I do know I have good qualities, I know I am very good in some things, and I see no point in saying I'm not good at something when I'm actually good at that thing.
So, is low self-esteem AS-related, or it just depends on someone's mood, just like for NTs?

Foxxtale
Toucan
Toucan

01 Jan 2013, 1:32 pm

I have generally fairly low self esteem and require outside encouragement/reassurance on a fairly frequent basis, or else I begin to second guess everything I do. It has become quite crippling on occasion, but for the most part, it is alright.

AgentPalpatine
Veteran
Veteran

01 Jan 2013, 1:34 pm

The social exclusion of those with AS alone makes any comparison of self-esteem to some sort of baseline pointless.

Wobbuffet
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

01 Jan 2013, 2:17 pm

Foxxtale wrote:
I have generally fairly low self esteem and require outside encouragement/reassurance on a fairly frequent basis, or else I begin to second guess everything I do. It has become quite crippling on occasion, but for the most part, it is alright.

I'm the same (except you put it better than I could)...I doubt almost everything I do, because I'm convinced it's wrong somehow.

invisiblesilent
Veteran
Veteran

01 Jan 2013, 3:12 pm