Page 1 of 4 [ 63 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

hollowmoon
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

14 Oct 2014, 9:48 am

I think that attractive Aspies have a much harder time. For reference I was a professional model for a while. I have noticed that when a person with subpar/ horrific social skills (like me) are attractive it makes it 1000 times worse. People have this impossible standard that attractive people have social graces and are popular and get weirded out when your not. Also if you make a social error people are not sympathetic and think you did it on purpose. I think that NT's judge social ability too much on looks and when you don't fit that mold it gives them the creeps. Its almost like its too heavy of a contradiction. What do you think, have you noticed this?

Alyosha
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

14 Oct 2014, 9:56 am

sorry are you genuinely saying that its harder to be attractive than unattractive? the 'its harder to be x than y' posts here are getting ridiculous.

hollowmoon
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

14 Oct 2014, 10:01 am

Alyosha wrote:
sorry are you genuinely saying that its harder to be attractive than unattractive? the 'its harder to be x than y' posts here are getting ridiculous.

when you have Aspergers I really think it is. People expect unnatractive people to be socially awkward so don't give them as hard of a time.

Amity
Veteran
Veteran

14 Oct 2014, 10:07 am

Could it be that anyone would get a similar response to the social faux pas, but you have further to fall in social estimation because of the value of beauty. You might have more opportunities extended to you on the basis of your appearance, and with that comes more expectations. What a fickle world. :?

vickygleitz
Veteran
Veteran

14 Oct 2014, 10:14 am

I was considered quite attractive as a young woman. It made life much easier,and I was considered cute but quirky, unique, a paradox.

Zajie
Veteran
Veteran

14 Oct 2014, 10:15 am