The neurodiverse perspective of theory of mind

Page 1 of 3 [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Dysmania
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

19 Aug 2015, 7:59 pm

Hello everybody.

As you may or may not know, I am not autistic. But I do consider myself a neurodiverse person who is ADHD-PI, and have an auditory processing disorder. I have suffered deeply in school, not because of my condition, but how I was treated in schools. It has really pushed me to study and understand neurological variation. I am a student and researcher who studies how people learn to comprehend the world around them. Specifically, I have been involved in studying the underlying behaviours for perspective-taking, and am aiming to develop an educational program that helps autistic kids understand perspective takings.

I read countless times about theory of mind. And it continues to boggle my mind. And from meeting awesome people with autism, I notice some people have varying difficulties or abilities with perspective taking.

I wanted to know, what is the autistic take on theory of mind -- especially as a child and then an adult. How it affects you and what you feel does not line up.

I'd love to understand how autistics actually know about others. (the studies are misleading and seem to show overly disability in the area. So please enlighten me, and hopefully I can help bring an accurate neurodiverse perspective to the field.

How do you know about other peoples intentions?

Is there anything you are good at or have difficulty with thinking about other peoples interests, wants and desires?

Is there anything the school never thought you and found out later about the matter and you wished you knew when you were younger?

What do you think of theory of mind in relation to autism?

SpaceAgeBushRanger
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

19 Aug 2015, 11:22 pm