Anyone ever get asked whether they're foreigners?

Page 1 of 3 [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Sora
Veteran
Veteran

31 Dec 2008, 4:11 pm

In your country, maybe even in the town you lived longest so far, did people ever ask you whether you're a foreigner? Maybe because of the way you talked or the they you behaved?

Now strangers often are not entirely sure what my background is. But at one time, a girl who was originally from abroad but had lived here for most of her life straight out asked me whether I was foreign too.

She said that she asked because she thought I sounded and talked like a person who's native language and way of speaking was not that of my country. She apologised in advance and then explained that she thought I made all these mistakes as if I didn't know the language well.

It sure stumped me for a moment. I just wondered whether my talking was that bad.

When I corrected her then and said that I indeed was born here she didn't believe me until I repeated myself and explained that I'm really telling the truth.

Nephesh
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

31 Dec 2008, 4:22 pm

On two different occasions some Russian immigrants have mistaken me for also being from Russia. I think it is my beard that does it.

Hector
Veteran
Veteran

31 Dec 2008, 4:35 pm

Even though I've lived in Ireland for about half of my life now, I never lost the accent that I picked up in Canada. Once I open my mouth Irish people tend to conclude that I'm foreign. A common topic of conversation is often "where are you from?" - and though I sometimes answer with where I live, usually that's not what they mean.

SeizeTheDay
Veteran
Veteran

31 Dec 2008, 5:02 pm

People say I look foreign, but they never specify. I don't know how you look foreign. And people say I have a strange accent, but that is understood since I have Scottish parents (I live in Ohio)

"The person who knows everything has a lot to learn."