Were you a gifted child? How are you seen as adult?

Page 1 of 13 [ 204 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 13  Next

hurtloam
Veteran
Veteran

31 Jul 2013, 5:16 am

Were you a gifted child? How are you seen as an adult?

I was regarded as a gifted child. I was especially good at art and english. I was a bit slow with math.

As an adult I feel mediocre. Why did I excel as a child, but am inept as a adult?

I was encouraged into an artistic sort of career. I am not good at it. I find it hard to come up with marketing ideas. I read so much information on subjects that should help me in my career, but still I am useless. The average joe thinks I'm clever, but that's just because I'm doing a job they didn't train to do. Conversely I couldn't do their job as I wasn't trained to do it. My profession doesn't make me more clever. Compared to my peers I am failing.

I've looked back and realised that alot of my artistic skill as a child was copied. I drew from photographs, I copied my favourite cartoons etc.

Now I have to be creative I am finding it difficult. Amazingly I'm still employed.

What are your experiences of how your talents have changed as you grew up?

stardraigh
Veteran
Veteran

31 Jul 2013, 8:20 am

I don't think I was labeled as gifted persay, but I was really good at certain things. Math being one of them. I was so good in Math, I got a 98.6% on my High School Proficiency Exam. The proficiency exams are exams my school district required every student to take to prove they could graduate despite all the classes and coursework they had attended. No one else tied with me. I was the highest scorer that year in the county school district. I aced my Calculus final where the Valedictorian and the Salutatorian did not.