Can you have an Online Relationship?

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Kitty4670
Veteran
Veteran

12 May 2016, 5:46 pm

I been texting this guy for almost 3 weeks, we are planning to meet, my guy is in the army, he really is.

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

12 May 2016, 5:55 pm

Where is the man stationed?

Of course you can have an online relationship if you want one.

Just meet him at a restaurant. And don't tell him where you live.

Drone232
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

12 May 2016, 9:21 pm

I'm just starting out trying to have an online relationship with a girl I met at work. I have trouble talking to her at work because it's crowded and I have trouble talking while working. Plus, we live forty minutes away as is usually too busy to meet with. But I we have just started exchanging e-mails and I see no reason why this can't be a good friendship based solely on internet communication.

Magthidon
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

13 May 2016, 12:58 am

Well, I was friends with this guy I met online for 8 years. This year we've met in person twice, the first time we went to PAX together and the second time was at his wedding. Our friendship has worked fantastically, in fact we're definitely heading to PAX again next year. Why would it be any different for a romantic relationship?

Kitty4670
Veteran
Veteran

13 May 2016, 2:28 am

kraftiekortie wrote:
Where is the man stationed?

Of course you can have an online relationship if you want one.

Just meet him at a restaurant. And don't tell him where you live.

He is in South Carolina.

Ban-Dodger
Veteran
Veteran

13 May 2016, 3:18 am

Nope, I can't do it, I just cannot.
Actually, I probably could if I wanted, but I have enough experience to know that I would rather not.

Wait, you mean, can you have one ?
Statistics usually don't favour it (particularly for deployed military personnel) but sometimes some people manage to stay together if they come up with some really good plans as to how to pull it off.