How can social interaction become enjoyable for us?

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Mona Pereth
Veteran
Veteran

11 Mar 2020, 12:31 am

Here, in the separate thread I'm no longer proud to have Asperger Syndrome:

Callisthenes wrote:
Autism is a disability (in social interactions among other things). NTs derive great amounts of joy from social interactions but not us.

Actually, while some autistic people really don't desire social interaction at all, many of us do desire it and would be capable of enjoying it in the right circumstances. Problem is, for many of us, the right circumstances just don't happen very often, if at all.

For example, for me, the right circumstances (which I personally am fortunate enough to have experienced at various times in my life), include: (1) The other person must fully accept me, weirdness and all, i.e. I must not have to mask. (2) The other person must enthusiastically share at least one of my interests, and must both enjoy talking about it and enjoy listening to me talk about it. (3) The interaction must take place in a setting where there are not a lot of distractions.

For many of us, our biggest social problem is simply finding people who will accept us. See the following recent Scientific American article:

Autistic People Make Great Social Partners If You Actually Give Them a Chance
Style, not substance, drives negative impressions of the social life of people on the autism spectrum.
By Scott Barry Kaufman on March 9, 2020
https://blogs.scientificamerican.com/be ... -a-chance/

Many autistic people try to fit in by masking. Problems: (1) Masking is exhausting, which is one of the main reasons why social interaction is so tiring and unpleasant for many of us. (2) Precisely because masking involves forcing oneself into an extremely difficult and utterly unnatural mode, those who do it still are often a little "off," thus still unappealing to most NT's.