Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

dexkaden
Veteran
Veteran

18 Jan 2006, 12:12 am

I got a "stern talking to" (a lecture short of a write up) today at work for "not being a team player." Actually, what happened had nothing to do with playing for the team (and I will discuss the idiocy of such euphimisms later), and everything to do with me apparently being "smart" with my manager...well, assistant manager since the store manager and I are on relatively good terms (mostly because he seems to understand me better than anyone else at the store.)

Basically, because I work in retail (a blessing and a curse, let me tell you) there are no hours because no one is shopping for paint and other hardware/DIY projects since it's SNOWING outside, so they've been cutting people down to 32 hours/week. I am supposed to be guaranteed 40 hours/week as a full time employee. However, my HR manager is a complete imbecile and has hired three BRAND NEW FULL TIME EMPLOYEES, one of which is in my department, none of which is in any department that can afford them right now. This struck me as completely illogical, and when I was called back to the office where I was told, in no uncertain terms, that I was going home two hours early whether I liked it or not because that's the way it is, and didn't I want to do something for the team so no one had to get RIFFED (i.e. FIRED?)

This is where my wiring has me at a disadvantage compared to the rest of my coworkers. I didn't see anything wrong with explaining why I didn't really want to do something for the team, since I didn't think the captain of the team was doing his job correctly or intelligently, so why should I pay for her complete ineptness at managing? I went through my reasoning very calmly, succinctly, and logically. I pointed out what should have been done, what ought to be done, and then asked why I needed to cut my hours when 18 of the hours needing to be cut were going to someone hired two weeks ago.