To religious people: How do you explain your ASD?

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Crocodile
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

05 Jul 2009, 3:35 am

I was wondering how religious people see their autism. Why do you think God/Allah or whatever god you believe in made you autistic?

I GRADUATED WITH THE HIGHEST GRADES OF MY YEAR!! !! !

Musashi
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

05 Jul 2009, 7:31 am

Good question, but not one with a simple answer. I will, however, attempt to give you my best answer. First of all, I never did like the term "religious". What does that mean exactly? My personal belief system/philosophy may gravitate toward a pattern of ideals or outlook which may be closer to a certain category of labeling, whether that be Buddhist, Jewish or whatever. You can ascribe to a particular religion without being "religious". Do I believe in a literal interpretation of the bible? No, not really. Rather I believe that all religions and their associated writings (Koran, Torah, the Hindu Vedas, etc), are man's interpretation and expression of the sacred and divine. I do believe in a something, some transcendent power or motivator or whatever. Whatever "it" is is not divisive and exclusive, but rather unifying and inclusive. For instance, my signature is from Yogiraj Sri Swami Satchidananda, "Truth is one, paths are many." There are rare moments when we can catch a brief glimpse of the transcendent and divine. For some it is viewing a spectacular sunset, or expression through art, music or meditation. I don't believe in some god sitting up in the sky, designating who is going to be born healthy or sick and malformed. Defining "god" is beyond all human expression. So there is no contradiction with my beliefs and the way I am now. I'm the way I am due to genetics and the environment. That is how I explain my aspiness. Nothing more nothing less.

zer0netgain
Veteran
Veteran

05 Jul 2009, 9:00 am

There are two angles one can take.

1. God made you that way.