Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

poodlie
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

21 Jan 2006, 5:49 pm

Hi, I didn't realize there was a parent's section here inititally so I posted under the "new here" category. If you wouldn't mind checking out my post and giving me some feedback I'd appreciate it! I think it's "new here and could really use some feedback please!" and I promise to post in the parent's section from now on!

Thanks,

Kathleen

BeeBee
Veteran
Veteran

21 Jan 2006, 7:32 pm

Hi, and welcome.

I read your other post wasn't sure how to respond. You son is by far the youngest in his group...eight months younger is a lot when we are talking three and four year olds. I don't think its that unusual for a three year old to have a tough time sitting still for 45 minutes. That's a pretty long time, even for kindergarteners.

BeeBee

Jetgirl
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

21 Jan 2006, 8:16 pm

Hey Kat

I got your message, I'm new at this and I'm not sure how and where to post and reply either. Now regarding your questions, here's my best guesses.

Your little guy will of course seem "normal" , if it's AS his difference won't really appear until he's 6 or so (and that's early) My guy R is 6, he has a 3 year old brother, Sam. I can now see the 3 year old passing R in social skills. R is lucky he's had Sam. As a 3 year old Sam is very literal and has a simple view of right, wrong, rules etc. So when you see the two boys play you think hey everything is fine. R also has good days and bad days. When R is sick, his sensitivities are brutal, he's in agony over sounds and smells.

With the echolalia, R never echoed the TV, he echos himself. How many repeats does B do? R repeats 4 - 5 times. I have to tell him "you've said it 6 times, that's enough" and he does stop.