Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Aspienoid
Raven
Raven

16 Aug 2009, 6:29 pm

I've noticed lately that I've begun covering my ears when I'm studying and reading (in class and at home). I don't think I've ever done this before. It just seemed to come out of nowhere. Should I be worried about this, or is it okay? How can I stop (or at least minimize) the urge to do it? It looks bad as a 16 year old in class to be doing this. What can I do?

Thank you!

"With one good trait there is usually the sacrifice of another."

WoodenNickel
Toucan
Toucan

16 Aug 2009, 7:01 pm

I don't know if this is related, but my NT son with autistic traits covers his ears when his preschool teacher talks to him. I suspect this is due to his sensitivity to criticism, real or implied. I told his teacher to ask how he was doing rather than asking if he needed help. I believe this is an autistic trait we're dealing with.

dooneybourkegrl
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

27 Aug 2009, 2:17 am

I'm 22 and I've just started to cover my ears when things are too loud/noisy for me. Mainly when my mom's yelling at me or others (though that's rare, since I'm the only one in the house) and when airplanes fly overhead/people rip the engines of their boats for no reason whatsoever (I live near the airport and right on a cove).

In early spring of this year, I've also started to notice weird ringing noises in one ear, but not the other. It almost felt like an amplifier effect, but there weren't any around. Do you notice any ringing or pain when you get the urge to cover your ears?

If it keeps bothering you/or you feel that something isn't right, I'd suggest making an appointment to see your doctor and possibly having your hearing checked. Though, I'm sure its nothing since its pretty common in children/teens to cover their ears when they have Autism/AS.