Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

k96822
Veteran
Veteran

18 Aug 2009, 8:35 pm

I'm a 36-year old computer programmer and, today, I mentioned to my parents how I would like to dress better at work. A sports coat and dark button-down shirt, dress pants, and dress shoes. I work in an environment that does not have a casual Friday (unless you give to the United Way) and it is a division of a bank, so dressing well would not be out of place for the bank as a whole (we're in a division no customer ever sees, though, so we are allowed to be a bit more lax). I currently wear the pants and shoes, but a polo shirt instead of the sports coat and button-down. I'd LIKE to wear those things... they are more how I see myself, a business professional, and it represents how I want others to see ME. However, I got immediate feedback from my parents... "I think it's a bad idea. You'll look conceited." My father even said, "Not looking to fly under the radar anymore?" in reference to my wanting to do that on this job to survive when I first started.

It dawns on me -- I have had this kind of advice my entire life, which is why I am a loser in my own eyes... I followed it. I always tried to be unseen and never try to appear conceited. However, I have always failed to avoid being called conceited because of my lack of interactiveness and being in my "own world" (which is crap -- I tend to notice more about the world around me than those who criticize me!) Is it about time I just say to hell with looking conceited and do whatever I want? There seems to be no way to avoid looking conceited for me, so perhaps I should just embrace it and, by doing so, release it's hold on me? Dressing well at work when nobody else does might be a good first step.

What do you think? Do you think it would be stupid to dress better than my peers?

CockneyRebel
Veteran
Veteran

18 Aug 2009, 10:53 pm

I think that you should dress for your job, however you want.

k96822
Veteran
Veteran