Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

nothingunusual
Veteran
Veteran

20 Aug 2009, 2:16 pm

I’m a geek, not by choice, but more so due to AS. 'The Geek Syndrome' pretty much sums it up for me. I have an obscene thirst for pointless trivia and other BS. I was the one who hid in the house with my mother's medical handbooks when everyone was out and about being cool. And for most of my life I was a joke to people for being such a bloody 'egghead', having a terrible fashion sense, acting so weird and being bookish. The point of this bitching session is this - All of a sudden all the cool kids want to be geeks. The ones who go around talking about how 'nerdy' they are, looking like homeless librarians, as if it's some commentary on how downtrodden and cast-out they are. Even on the most superficial level. I've never known what the hell to wear. I've always been badly put together, preferring comfortable and easy to wear clothing, always somewhat disheveled, but clean. Suddenly there are thousands of trendy indie/hipster creatures running around looking like Ugly Betty rejects.

Go find something else to appropriate. Jesus. :?

And in the passing of momentary stillness.
We can see our chaos in motion.

20 Aug 2009, 2:19 pm

You should feel good about this. You are no longer different because geek has become the norm. Now people shouldn't judge you.

idiocratik
Veteran
Veteran

20 Aug 2009, 2:26 pm

Pfft. The trendy-nerds think intelligence is knowing the entire indie genre discography by heart, and throw in Johnny Cash to top off the elitism. Your location reminds me of a real geek: Michael Tsarion. That's a total info-nerd focusing primarily on Irish origins of civilization, alternative history, astro-theology, symbolism and conspiracy theory.

deadeyexx
Veteran
Veteran

20 Aug 2009, 2:33 pm