Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

tlcoopi7
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

16 Sep 2009, 2:03 am

I am currently a grad student studying college student affairs, which is basically, the stuff outside of class (student organizations, residence hall life, leadership development, fraternity/sorority life, disability support services, etc) and for one of my classes, I am going to do a research on disabilities and higher education, or if I could find enough sources (Wikipedia could not be one), I might focus it on specifically on autism and higher education.

For those that are in college, here are some tips:

* In order to request services, you must have official documentation that says that you are autistic. This documentation shows the disability support services office that you are indeed autistic and the document would have suggestions on succeeding in college life. If you self-diagnosis as autistic, you will not get services at all, they need documenation

* Good classroom accommodations to request: use of laptop in class, note taker, low distraction test environment, extended test time

*Residence Hall rooms: If the coordinator understands about autism, he or she would mention having a single room, because being autistic can be stressful at time and that one would need a private place to relax and calm down.

* Most importantly, this is a good time to tell others about autism

http://www.myspace.com/tlcoopi7 My MySpace Profile

http://www.facebook.com/tlcoopi7 My Facebook Profile

Peko
Veteran
Veteran

16 Sep 2009, 10:09 am

tlcoopi7 wrote: