touching...good days, bad days...love it , hate it?

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

ptown
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

16 Sep 2009, 2:07 pm

my Aspie house-mate seems irratic and moody alot... he reminds me of the Katy Perry song...hot/cold, yes/no, in/out, up/down...

we have been buddies for over a year now and got really close in january...so we're on 9 months of being super good friends.

he says he never got hugged or touched much by his parents or other family members. it's obvious to me that he wants to be touched...mostly back rubs, hands through hair...calf massage, foot massage. he usually needs it, craves it, seeks it out. very often, he *initiates* hugs or puts his arm around my shoulder when we're walking down the street, he likes to hold hands alot while talking, etc.

i'm a massage therapist by training and a yoga girl and come from a family where everyone hugs and touches each other and holds hands and such. i still hold hands with my dad when we walk down the street ... sometimes i sleep in the same bed with my sister when she visits, etc... being physically affectionate is normal in my family...so i'm happy to give and receive physical affection from my house-mate when he wants it, especially since he had such a crappy child-hood and was deprived of affection.

there are some days where we spend hours together and he wants alot of communication and play and dance and massage and partner yoga (i stretch him, he stretches me) and touch and such.

then other days, he doesn't want to speak to me at all and locks himself in his room. there are times i can't touch him at all and if i do, he reacts in this jumpy flinchy ouch kind of way that implies he's disgusted by me attempting to touch him even though the day before, we would have spent 2 hours on the floor doing partner yoga or massage stuff.

on really bad days, he gets annoyed if my hand even touches his hand while i'm handing him food or a pen or his clean laundry...