Recognizing People (facial recognition)

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

CanadianRose
Veteran
Veteran

05 Oct 2009, 12:49 pm

As I read more and more about autism since my son's diagnosis, I am considering my own quirks.

One of my quirks is having a heck of a time remembering faces. I remember being in elementary school and I did not know half the people in my class by the middle of the year. It is not that I didn't care - I just had trouble remembering all the faces.

Even in high school, I did not know all the faces (My grad class was around 200 or so). When watching a movie - I will sometimes recognize a face and know I have seen them before, but can't place the movie. Other times, I will not recognize actors at all. When watching some movies with multiple characters, unless the characters are very distinctive looking, I will have trouble telling one character apart from another.

I work as a nurse in long term care and am lucky because my clients are all very individual (older adults are very individually distinctive, with unique features, mannerisms and styles), I know all 150 of them by name and face. Interestingly, I have trouble with some of my co-workers when they are new hires. Most are young, shorter and Asian (mostly from the Phillipines). They all speak with a Phillappino accent. They are also all distinct and unique individuals, but when everyone is the same height, has shoulder length black hair, slim, wears similiar uniforms and has similiar intonation when speaking, I get faces mixed up and subtly look at name id tags when addressing people until I get to know them better - then I'm okay. God help me if someone forgets their name badge!! :oops: I am worried that people will think that I am "racist" because I have trouble "telling 'em apart." It is not racism, it is genuine difficulty with facial recognition. Of course, I keep my difficulty to myself and people don't really know that I struggle with it.