I need to find a career that I can enjoy, not just cope with

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

MissMax
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

14 Nov 2009, 9:47 pm

About a month ago I was diagnosed with Asperger's by the psychiatrist I'm seeing for severe depression. Today she gave me the name of this site. This is my first post, so please excuse me if I do something wrong.

Part of my depression is a result of feeling like there are no jobs out there that I could honestly enjoy. I'm a freshman in college and my GPA is currently a 4.0. I have good friends, a good family, and they're always telling me that I could be anything I wanted to be. I'm sure they're right and I could get pretty much any job I set my mind to (please forgive me if that sounds egotistical) but the problem is there simply are no jobs that sound interesting. I'm very afraid that I'll end up getting a job that I'll just tolerate, the same way I tolerated high school and am tolerating college now. I'm sick of tolerating this world; I want to enjoy it. And I figure my only way to honestly enjoy it would be to get a job I truly enjoy.

For as long as I can remember my interests were only for things that don't exist (supernatural and spiritual things, shall I say). Even as a little kid I never wanted a real job; I just wanted to be a shape-shifter or a vampire or something. That was okay when I was a kid, but now it has become a huge issue. Now the real, human world is dragging me to front and center stage, and I want nothing to do with it. I've tried desperately to find a career that I might enjoy, but to no avail.

So please, if you have any tips for how I can find a career I might enjoy, PLEASE let me know. This question is mainly for adults with Asperger's who have found a job they like, but I would really appreciate help from anyone right now. I feel like knowing what I'd like to be is a key step towards being okay with living in this human world.

Sorry for the long post.

MrTeacher
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

14 Nov 2009, 10:06 pm