I knew my son had it, never knew I did!

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Irishlass99
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

24 Nov 2009, 8:46 pm

Good evening! I am the mother of a Aspie son. He's been diagnosed since 2004. His weaknesses are primarily social. We pulled him out of private school last year and he's now thriving in public school.

Last night I was at the doctor, getting my medication adjusted. The doctor looked at me, squirmed, and asked me if she could tell me something without me being upset. I said yes. She told me I fit the characteristics of an Aspie because my decisions and my actions don't "fit" with what she expects people to do.

Instead of being upset, i was thrilled that there might be a reason for why I am the way I am: social miscues, can't read office politics correctly. Basically bull in a china shop, as my mother puts it.

I told my supervisor today (I'm a HS teacher). She laughed and said, "COWORKER and I could have told you this 3 years ago. We thought you knew!" I stared at her.

8O

Anyway, a diagnosis better late than never! I'm 37.

Tim_Tex
Veteran
Veteran

24 Nov 2009, 8:47 pm

Welcome to WP!

Now proficient in ChatGPT!

Irishlass99
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

24 Nov 2009, 8:51 pm

thanks!

leejosepho
Veteran
Veteran

24 Nov 2009, 9:32 pm

Happy for you, IrishLass, and welcome to WP!

sinsboldly
Veteran
Veteran

24 Nov 2009, 10:25 pm

Welcome home, IrishLass! As you can see by my join date over there
<------------- I learned about this place three years ago and fell in love and in habit with the WrongPlanet.

Merle

24 Nov 2009, 11:02 pm

Wow, that is surprising. How could you not know? Did you ever think you had traits of it or thought they were due to something else?

suffix
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

24 Nov 2009, 11:33 pm