Greetings from a Malaysian in cold Minnesota!

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

Eokboy
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

10 Jan 2010, 6:42 am

Hello guise!

Wow I can't believe I just opened a self intro thread. Usually I look past the new member introduction boards in online forums I frequent.

I came across a trailer for the movie 'Adam', and I couldn't help but notice that I have more in common with the protagonist than just our first names. I looked up Asperger's Syndrome in wikipedia, and found my way here.

I'm a 21 year old student from Malaysia currently studying (or rather, appealing against academic suspension) in university of Minnesota. I got an A- for a lab course, a C for its more important co-requisite and failed the rest. Its probably due to H1N1 leaving me in bed for 2 weeks, but I feel I should've done better. Instead, I suffered a complete meltdown from all the piling coursework and spent the remaining Fall semester sleeping and constantly refreshing this political forum I go to for world news, researching a new laptop to replace a stolen one and looking at pictures of soldiers and fighter jets. I felt crippled, dead inside. The pain still lingers, but winter break has been good.

I enjoy making things. I got interested in computers and built my own desktop. I then went on to making headphone amplifiers and assorted electronics. I guess this explains why I did well on the lab but screwed up the math/theory heavy class, also there was no final exam for the lab which means no pressure, and I do not like pressure. Since I first came here a year ago, my culinary skills improved tremendously thanks to not having mom around. I just baked brownies for a potluck too, and they loved me for it.

But only for the brownies...